What are the world-class billiards professional ranking tournament and non-professional tournament?

Billiards has a history of five to six hundred years, and countless large and small events have been held. Let’s take a look at the famous events in the billiards industry.

World Class Billiards Professional Ranking Tournament

1, World Professional Championship

The World Professional Championship is specially set up for professional snooker players. It is the oldest and highest level snooker competition in the world today.

The first World Professional Championship was held on November 26, 1926. It was due to the unremitting efforts of then snooker star Joe Davis and his friend Bill Kamkin (the owner of a billiard hall). It is organized with the consent of the Billiards Association and Management Club (BA&CC). From 1926 to 1940, a total of 100 people participated in this championship, an average of seven people per year.

2, F.U.T. International Competition

Traditionally, every season of Snooker’s ranking event is the F.U.T. international competition as the starter. At first, this international competition was called the Jameson International. After that, he used to call GOYAMATCHROOM Cup and BCE International. In 1987, it was changed to this name. It is the second tournament based on the ranking after the EMBASSY World Professional Championship.

3, ROTHMANS Grand Prix

ROTHMANS Grand Prix began in 1982 and was originally called the Professional Players Championship. It was the first tournament held by the World Professional Billiards Association’s own promotion company. From 1982 to 1983, it was added as a ranked tournament together with the Jameson International. Since 1984, ROTHMANS became this event and was added as a ranked match. Since 1984, the ROTHMANS Grand Prix.


This event was first called the WILSONS Classic, and later it was called the LADA Classic. It was selected as a ranked match during the LADA Classic in 1984. After 1985, it was renamed the MERCANTILECREDIT Classic.

5, UK Open

This open tournament started in 1977 and was originally called the SUPERCRYSTALATEUK Championship. In 1979, it was renamed the CORALUK Championship. Since being designated for the ranking in 1984, the type has changed and it started to be called the CORALUK Open. After 1986, it was called the TENNENTSUK Open again. However, after 1988, TENNENTS withdrew from the sponsorship.

6, British Open

was first called the British Gold Cup and later called the YAMAHAORGANS Cup. In 1985, it was designated as a ranked match. In the same year, it was sponsored by ICI and named the event after their company’s DULUX. Called DULUX British Open, ANGLIAN British Open and so on.

7, BCE Canadian Masters

The Canadian Masters was first held in 1985, and it was designated as a ranked tournament from 1988 to 1989. It is the first ranking tournament to compete in a country outside the UK.

8. ICI European Open

The ICI European Open was first held in France in 1989. It was the second ranked tournament in a country outside the UK after the BCE Canadian division.

9, Snooker World Championship

The Snooker World Championship is a snooker tournament. The first tournament was held in 1927. The venue has been changed many times, and the current venue for the competition is the Crucible Theatre.

World-class billiards professional non-ranking tournament


This event started in 1975. From the beginning, it was sponsored by the tobacco company GALLAHERS and named after their company’s BENSONANDHEDGES cigarettes. Among non-ranked events, counting is the most important and the highest level. In all snooker competitions in the world, only players whose status is publicly second to the top 16 in the world are eligible to participate. At the same time, it is also the longest consecutive sponsorship event in the history of snooker.

2, World Cup

The first World Cup was held in 1979. In the professional game, the sponsors sponsored the most, including STATEEXPRERS, GUENNESS and so on. The World Cup is divided into groups and individuals.

World Class Billiards Non-Professional Game

1, World Billiards Championship

was originally called the World Amateur Championship. It was changed to its current name in 1989. The full name is the International Billiards Federation World Championship. It was first held in 1963. At first it was held every three years, and then every year. After 1985, it became once a year. This event is held in different countries every year. The host country each year is determined in advance by the organizer of the competition-the International Billiards Federation (IBSF). Each member state of the International Billiards Federation can select 2 players to participate in the tournament.

2, World Youth Billiards Championship

Like the World Championships, they are organized by the International Billiards Federation. It is a world championship set up specifically for young players under the age of 21. It was first held in 1987.

3, European Amateur Billiards Championship

was first held in the Netherlands in 1988. It is a world championship type event, held every two years.

4. Asian Billiards Championship

With the rapid development of snooker in Asia, the Asian Championship has become one of the most important non-professional events. It was held for the first time in 1984, and the organization is similar to the World Championship. The group will be divided into groups for round robin, and then the top two winners of the group will go to the elimination round. It is held in rotation among Asian member countries, and China has successfully held it twice.

Signature: Xingpai Billiards

Related News

Contact us

+86 15910826173

Customer service section: Monday to Friday, 8:30-17:30, Closed on holidays