Review of the German Championship: 5 of the first 6 75 three-jerks Ding Junhui reached the top 4 years ago

On December 19-22, 2017, Beijing time, the 2018 World Snooker German Masters Qualifying Tournament will be held in Barnsley, UK. The first players include “Chinese Dragon” Ding Junhui and World No. 1 Mark Selby. , China’s rising star Yan Bingtao, etc. The qualifying competition will have two rounds of competition. A total of 32 players will enter the main stage. The 2018 World Snooker German Masters will be held from January 31 to February 4, 2018. During the dates, it took place at the Tap Dome Opera House in Germany.

The predecessor of the German Masters can be traced back to the German Open held in 1995. Due to multiple suspensions and name changes, it was called the German Masters (invitational) until the German snooker market gradually opened in 2011. Coupled with the determined reform of World Snooker, the German Masters has returned as a major ranking tournament.

From 1995 to 1997, the three-time champions were swept by Higgins and O’Sullivan among the 75 three-time champions, including two Higgins and one O’Sullivan.

In the 2011 German Masters, “Golden Left-hand” Mark Williams went all the way to the finals with “Leicester Clown” Selby, and finally defeated Selby 9-7 to win the 18th personal ranking trophy.

In the 2012 German Masters, Rockets O’Sullivan fell behind 0-4 in the first round, 5 shots and 50+ in a row to win Andrew Higginson 5-4 to complete the super reversal, and then with the feeling of Stephen Maguire. They met in the final and finally won the German Masters 9-7. This means that in the first six sessions, the 75 three masters took a total of five championships. (The 1998 championship was picked by Pallott, and it was discontinued from the following year to 2010.)

In the 2014 German Masters, Ding Junhui defeated Mike Dunn 5-1 in the first round, and then defeated Ma Shu 5-1, 5-3 “Alien” Dell, 5-2 Joe Perry, 6-5. Ryan Day, in the finals with the small special player who was known as a “full-time model and part-time snooker player” at the time, but Trump may really be a “part-time snooker player” at the German Masters. After hitting 80+ in 1 shot, Ding Junhui finished 2 shots and broke 100 in 5 shots with 50+ and easily won the 2014 German Masters championship with 9-5.

The following are the details of the previous championships of the German Masters from 2011 to 2017:

2011 Mark Williams 9-7 Mark Selby

2012 Ronnie O’Sullivan 9-7 Stephen Maguire

2013 Ali Carter 9-6Fu Jiajun

2014 Ding Junhui 9-5 Judd Trump

2015 Mark Selby 9-7 Sean Murphy

2016 Martin Gould 9-5 Luca Brechel

2017 Anthony Hamilton 9-6 Ali Carter.

Related News

Contact us

+86 18514433287

Customer service section: Monday to Friday, 8:30-17:30, Closed on holidays